People & Place-Exercise 6- Review a portrait sequence

For this exercise we had to create a formal and structured portrait session, for this I choose my son and take at least 20 photos so they could be reviewed after to see which was the best.

As I choose my 5 month old son, Connor, to be the subject I had to limit my shoot to 15-20 minutes so I could get enough photos before he became bored or upset. During the shoot, I set my camera up on a tripod so my husband and I were able to talk to Connor in order to keep him entertained and comfortable. At one point during the shoot, Connor did lose his balance but we were quickly able to sit him back up without him getting too upset. At the time, my favourite photos were 1654, 1664, 1665 and 1668.

Later in the day, I uploaded the photos onto the computer and began to edit them

Screen print of images before editing

Screen print of images before editing

Once I had edited the images I then printed a contact sheet so I could look at the photos and pick out which ones I thought were a) not good, b) acceptable c) good and d) the best single shot

Contact Sheet

Contact Sheet

Out of all the images I thought that 7 were not good, 9 were acceptable and 5 were good (including 1654, 1664, 1665, 1668 and 1671). From the good list I choose 1665 to be the best shot as it is had the best facial expression, the best proportions and out of all of them I was really drawn to it even from the very beginning.

Best Single Shot

Best Single Shot

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

