People & Place- Exercise 7- Focal Length

In this exercise we had to shoot a number of photos, using the same framing for all, but with different focal lengths each time to see what effect it had on our subjects face.

To complete the exercise I used my 18-55mm wide angle lens, my 55-210mm telephoto lens and tried using my new Minolta film camera which has a 50mm lens (as I have only just started using my film camera, I will add the image once I have processed the film)

Although I have been using my camera for a while, I have never stopped to see what effect different focal lengths had on a person’s face. I found this exercise to be a real eye opener, although once I started to try to take photos I found that a number of people were not happy for me to use some of the images (the ones with a 18mm focal length were the most unflattering) so I used my daughter again for these images. My results are below.

SONY DSC

18mm

SONY DSC

55mm

85mm

85mm

SONY DSC

153mm

 

I found that the worse images came from using the 18mm focal length as it gave a slight fish eye lens effect to the subject. Although the 55mm image came out quite well, I found that the more attractive images came from the 85mm and 153mm focal length. I would have liked to try a longer focal length but the space that i was using didn’t allow for this.

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

