Looking at articles 1

This particular article really interested me and i found it very thought-provoking.

http://www.weareoca.com/photography/photography-and-madness/

I think that it could potentially lead to madness, if you were to become obsessive about photographing everything. By making sure that you don’t miss any moments could inevitably distort or damage the memories though.

When it asked about moments in my life that hadn’t been photographed, I must admit I did have to really think about it but the few I came up with were

  • finding out I was pregnant with my children
  • when my husband proposed
  • when I passed my driving test
  • when I went into labour

Some of the above I would have liked photographed like passing my driving test and when my husband proposed. However, there are also some moments where I don’t feel photographs are appropriate, like when I found out I was pregnant each time. With this sort of event it is hard to recreate the exact moment and I feel it would have taken away from the moment if my husband and I got the camera out and tried to capture the very moment the pregnancy test went positive.

I think that photographs can distort our memories to a certain extent, in that they can make us only remember the positives or vice versa. However whether it is photographed or not our memories of past events can be vivid enough.

I myself, enjoy looking at the more posed or staged images but I also find the more candid shots interesting too as they can invoke memories which aren’t usually as important yet are nice to remember such as shared jokes, feelings that were felt and people’s emotions and relationships with one another.

An example of this is the photo below. It was taken by a relative on my wedding day and it shows my husband and I meeting his cousin for the first time. i would hardly say it was a significant moment on the day however the photo always makes me laugh as my husband had no idea how to hold her. At this particular moment, we were joking about it with Tom’s uncle and aunt and the look on the baby’s face really sums it all up.

 

With all this in mind, I feel that it could lead to madness however it is dependant on the individual. Those with an obsessive temperament/tendency would probably be more likely to be driven to madness. However, I think that we all need to be aware that whether a moment is photographed or not, the most important things in our lives will always be remembered.

 

 

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

