Tutor feedback- Assignment 1

Overall, the feedback I received was really good. He did comment that the photos needed to be taken over a few sessions, however the photos I had submitted showed that I knew what to do with someone who was aware they were being photographed. He also suggested I try to take more creative risks with my portrait photography by perhaps using different lighting and different moods (i.e. prepared or not).

Image Feedback

Again the overall feedback was good. He suggested, as a way of combating my feelings of invading people’s personal space, to try using a telephoto lens. For the first image he suggested I look at lens correction in Photoshop as one of the posts seems to be slanting. I have looked at trying to do this, however I was not able to find out how to do this so I am planning to look at it more closely in the near future. With the image on the balustrade, he thought that it would be better if the flowers were cropped out and if the image was cropped into a square. At first I was a little apprehensive about doing this, however once I had done it, I think it does improve the image as it focuses the attention more.

SONY DSC

He liked the image of Tiffany lying on the stone bench, however he felt the blue of the jeans was distracting and could be either cropped out of turned to black. I decided to image the image closer, which meant there is still a bit of blue visible but not as much.

SONY DSC

With the 5th image, he did say that I should have used either a reflector or fill in flash just to highlight Tiffany’s features, which in hindsight, I should have done. He also suggested perhaps using an oval crop on it too. This isn’t something I have really considered before so i was interested in how it would look. I was really surprised by the difference it made. It has helped to cut out the unnecessary background and concentrate the viewer’s attention.

SONY DSC

Lastly, my tutor suggested some photographers I could take a look at, which I will be over the coming weeks.

These were:

  • Bettina Von Zwehl
  • Henri Cartier- Bresson
  • Martin Parr
  • Philip- Lacra diCorcia
  • Sophie Calle

 

 

 

 

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

