On Being a Woman Photographer

I first saw this article through the National Geographic Magazine page on Facebook and thought it would make an interesting read.

http://proof.nationalgeographic.com/2013/11/05/are-women-photographers-wired-differently-with-maggie-steber-and-lynn-johnson/

When I first started my degree, I sat down and made a list of photographers that i could research throughout my studies. However I found it very difficult to come up with any female photographers other than Diane Arbus (someone I am still yet to look at). I also found that when I have watched programmes or interviews with photographers in them, only once have I seen a female photographer, Sylvia Plachy. With this in mind I think that female photographers need to be given more attention so women coming into the profession can have more recognised role models.

I think that being a female photographer can give you an advantage over a male photographer as a woman can give a certain empathy to a situation and are possibly more likely to go unnoticed when photographing in public. While I have recently been taking photos of people on the streets of my local town, I did worry about people coming up to me and protesting about having their photo taken however the people I did photograph that may have had an issue with it seemed to not say anything to me after they saw who was behind the camera. This may be down to that fact that they actually didn’t mind having their photo taken or possibly due to the fact that I was a woman and it could have been deemed threatening to myself if they came over and started shouting at me for taking their photo.

Do you feel that gender can play a role in what you do and how you do it?

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

