People & Place- Assignment 2- Tutor Feedback

I received my feedback for assignment 2 the other day. I was aware that this wasn’t my best assignment and although he said I was able to go out and take photos of strangers, my timidness showed in the images.

He pointed out that a number of the images needed to be cropped as there were distractions or that it would help to focus the attention. With this in mind, it is something that I will try to be more vigilant of in the future. When selecting the final images I didn’t really see the distractions but with more extensive viewing they seemed more obvious. With the “shall I, shan’t I?” image he did suggest that I try cropping the daughter out completely. I tried this but felt that the daughter needed to be present to show that the mother was unsure whether to buy something and was looking for her daughters assistance. For the “Old Hand” image, he suggested experimenting with dodging and burning in Photoshop. I had a go at this as it is something I had heard of but never done myself. I enjoyed seeing the effects it gave and altered the image slightly but feel that I would like to practice it further at a later date.

Another tip my tutor gave, was to try to photograph people from a distance with a telephoto lens so I would be able to get close up shots without having to get too close to the people I want to photograph.

The photographers he suggested I looked at were Rineke Dijkstra, Thomas Struth, Phillip Lorca diCorcia and Paul Graham.

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

