People & Place- Assignment 4- A Sense of Place

This assignment asked us to imagine that we were on assignment for an intelligent and thoughtful travel publication that is demanding a considered and in-depth treatment.

We had to choose a place we either knew well or were prepared to take the time to know well and be able to take a strong selection of around a dozen images. From these 12 images we had to select around 6 final images.

I initially chose to complete my assignment on Trentham Gardens as I know the area quite well and there are plenty of different areas to photograph. However, as we were going to Bath for the weekend, I chose to complete the assignment on that instead as I felt that it would be a really lovely place to photograph. As I had not been before, I decided to do a little research on what was there, where the best places to photograph and looked at some photographs of the area on the internet.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

 

My final images are as follows

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

With these images I wanted to show the variety that Bath has to offer. There are the lively streets which have a variety of street performers, there are quiet places where you can sit and relax and take in the local attractions, there are plenty of shops to suit everyone’s tastes and quiet back streets to explore. I think Bath is such a beautiful city with so much to see and do. I also found it very friendly. I feel that, with my images I have shown the character of the city quite well. If I could do the assignment again I would try and capture people sitting in outside of the cafes, because of the time of year there were plenty of opportunities for this however I felt quite nervous taking these sort of images. If there was no end result in mind, I probably wouldn’t have thought so much about showing the character of the city and focus more on taking more “tourist” type images of the buildings and the street performers as opposed to how people interact with Bath.

Evaluation

Overall, I found the assignment quite difficult as I have had quite a break from photography recently however I am pleased with my final images. As I said before I would have liked to have been able to take some photos of people sitting outside of the cafes but this is something that I need to build some more confidence in. I feel that with the final images I have chosen, I have been able to show the various aspects of Bath and made it quite an attractive place.

The difficulties I had when taking the photos were things such as people walking in front of the camera when I had focussed on a particular person further away and people suddenly turning away. All of the images were taken using an 18-55mm wide angle lens. I would have liked to have taken some using my telephoto lens so I could capture people more closely however by stopping to change lenses I would have missed vital moments. If I could complete the assignment again, I would probably divide the day up to allow me to use both lenses. Another technical problem I encountered was when I was taking panoramic shots. With my camera you are limited to only being able to change the exposure on the images and with the weather changing from being very bright to cloudy within a few minutes I struggled to get the right exposure. Also the images are taken as a JPEG so the editing options are limited at the end. Lastly, I had a couple of problems with framing. With the panoramic image of The Crescent, I found that the right hand side had but cut off so the end of the buildings doesn’t show. This could have been corrected by either standing further back or standing more centrally in front of the buildings. With other images I found that I took the image too far away and had to crop them down for use.

 

 

 

 

 

 


About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

