Understanding Visual Culture- Assignment 3- Tutor Feedback

Every time I am waiting for tutor feedback, I am always very nervous. I put a lot of work into my coursework and try my best to continually work to a high standard so it is always reassuring when I receive feedback like this.

When I initially started this module, I was very worried that it would be a tricky subject to tackle but once I had got into it I found it really interesting and it has really opened my eyes to a new way of thinking and looking at art.

As with all feedback, there are points that I need to look at or work on but it is nice to see that my tutor likes the ideas that I bring to my work.

With regards to my assignment, he felt that I may have been confused with the signified and signifier parts of the advert. He felt that the signifier was the image and the text and the signified was the unwritten message that you can drink Diet Coke without feeling guilty. Whereas, I felt that the signifier was the can of Diet Coke and the signfied was the 100% love, 0% calories. After reading this, I tend to agree with him. I did find this part a little tricky at the time so his guidance was very welcome.

The overall feedback for my exercises was also good and I was pleased to see that I am getting the general idea behind the works I am reading. Obviously, there are some points where I have missed things or misunderstood what the author was trying to say, such as the different styles used in Constable’s and Gainsborough’s images as Gainsborough’s appears to be more structured and Constable’s appears to be more of a work piece to be used for later work. It is fair to say that I expected this but am pleased that there are only a few things.

Lastly in response to the image I used for exercise 14 (Girl before a Mirror), my tutor suggested that I google paintings of women looking in mirrors and to look at Lacan’s theory of mirror image.

Kimberley Unsworth Revised Assessment for Assignment Three

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography, Understanding Visual Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

