My Infatuation with Reflections

While reading Lacan’s article on The Mirror Phase, I began to wonder if there was any relation between the Lacan’s article and my enjoyment of photographing reflections. I also enjoy looking at reflective images. Some of the artists I am interested in that have done some reflective work are David Kukla and Ansel Adams.

David Kuklaansel adams

 

I found a couple of articles which show some amazing examples of reflective photographs http://www.boredpanda.com/reflection-photography/ and http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2529995/Shes-got-no-body-pose-Student-photographers-weird-dreams-pictures-trick-eye-thinking-shes-INVISIBLE-viral-internet.html

I enjoy looking at and taking reflective photographs because

  • I find the symmetry can be very beautiful
  • they can make you think i.e. which way up should the image be
  • they can be fantastic and unreal
  • they can make you see things that you wouldn’t normally look for
  • they can make everyday objects more interesting
  • they can add depth and interest.

After re-reading the article, I found there were a number of points that echoed my feelings

  • Lacan discusses how children are naturally interested in images and reflections of themselves. I feel that as we grow older this fascination and interest never really fades, it is just transferred to other types of images and in my case other reflections or reflective images.
  • within the article Lacan mentions gestalts where the mind looks for patterns or shapes. Reflective images have plenty of patterns and shapes, although sometimes these are more obvious then others.
  • reflective images come in various shapes and forms, sometimes they appear as simply “backward” versions of the original and others appear in dreamlike and unusual ways i.e. the reflected subject may appear distorted.

Here are some examples of my own reflective photography

3

SONY DSC

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_26301457519_382514228548004_1928421770_nSONY DSC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Photography, Understanding Visual Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

