Photographer of the week- P H Emerson

For this weeks photographer I have chosen P H Emerson.

Emerson was born in 1856 in Cuba and moved to England in 1869 with his mother and brother after she was widowed. He mainly took “naturalistic” photos which focussed on the life and landscapes of East Anglia. It is suggested that his images were based on French artists such as Jean-Francois Millet. He often photographer image so the main object would be relatively sharp and the other areas would have a softer focus.

I decided to look at Emerson’s work after he was mentioned within the coursework material and as I have a soft spot for East Anglia. I really enjoyed looking at his work as it enabled me to expose myself to work I would not normally look at due to the age. To me they are beautiful and almost painting like. By having only the main object in sharp focus, it helps to draw the viewer and you barely notice the softer areas within the image.

Below is a link to a video narrated by Emerson’s great-grandson Stephen Hyde which I thought perfectly sums up Emerson and his work.

http://www.getty.edu/art/gettyguide/videoDetails?segid=4032

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photographer of the week- P H Emerson

  1. Yes, I was also attracted to Emerson’s work and feature it on my blog. It seems he was an extraordinary character who actually was only involved in photography for about a decade or so. Thanks for the video link! Here is a link to my research into Emerson … https://amanolandscape.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/p-h-emerson/

Leave a Reply

