Landscape- Exercise 1.5- Visualising Assignment 6: Transitions

For this exercise, we were asked to begin working on Assignment 6- Transitions.

First we had to familiarise ourselves with the assignments brief and choose a suitable location to photograph over the duration of the course.

In order the find a suitable location, I decided to go out and take some reference photos and make a list of pros and cons for each location so I could make my final decision.

Below are photos of the process in my learning log.

2015/01/img_0030.jpg

2015/01/img_0031.jpg

After weighing through the pros and cons of each location I had chosen, I decided to complete Assignment 6- Transitions on Victoria Park. There were a number of reasons for my choice such as

– It is close to my home thus making it easier to get to on regular basis. Due to its proximity, I decided to take take photos each month as I feel that there will be enough variety to still make each photo interesting for the viewer. I also have some ideas of ways I could potentially present the finished images.
– It has adequate parking. For a couple of my chosen locations, I found myself driving around for nearly half an hour trying to find somewhere to park. Even if I only did the minimum required photos, this still could become a problem if I have to keep going back to take photos if I have difficulty parking.
– The location isn’t a traditional landscape that I have seen with other students work and it gives me the opportunity to show how the space us used.
– Apart from the construction site, where the landscape is ever evolving, my chosen location has a large variety of changes such as the foliage on the trees and plants, the seasonal flowers, wildlife (ducks and swans), weather conditions such as snow and rain and the changes these present (the area is well known for flooding)
– There are events held throughout the year at the park such as Party in the Park in June/July and various bands throughout the summer.
– The location is also used by a wide variety of people for walks, picnics, relaxing, playing, events etc.

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

