Landscape- Exercise 1:8- Zone system in practise

This exercise required us to take 3 photos in “relatively high dynamic range” making sure that the exposure choice shows as much detail as possible in the lightest and darkest areas of the photo.

As this exercise is more for experimental purposes then to show incredible landscapes and such. I chose to take my photos around my home when the sun was rising and at its highest point in the day as I felt that these gave the most compromising lighting conditions.

I must admit that I found the exercise quite tricky and tend to prefer adjusting the exposure in Photoshop as opposed to with the camera. In each image I found myself experimenting with different exposures to achieve the image that best matched how I saw the scene with my own eyes.

Exposure adjusted to +1.3. I did experiment with a higher exposure however I found that the brighter areas began to look too washed out.

Exposure adjusted to +1.3. I did experiment with a higher exposure however I found that the brighter areas began to look too washed out.

Exposure adjusted to +1.7. Found this image harder to take then the previous one as the contrasts were very different and it took me awhile to achieve the right balance

Exposure adjusted to +1.7. Found this image harder to take then the previous one as the contrasts were very different and it took me awhile to achieve the right balance

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Landscape- Exercise 1:8- Zone system in practise

  1. Looks accomplished! I find it is a matter of altering the exposure in the camera and also working further with the image in Photoshop; the dynamic range of the sensor in the camera is limited but those limitations can be extended by the software.

Leave a Reply

