Assignment 1- Preparation

As previously discussed, I wanted to create a series of images that looked at the beauty and power of nature using abandoned buildings. With regards to the notions of the sublime, i liked the idea of contrasting two different ideas of the sublime within one image; firstly the beauty of plants and nature and secondly the power that these buildings have to destabilise and unnerve the viewer.

For my first outing, I took images of anything that appeared over grown and neglected. This gave me a good starting point however I wasn’t particularly pleased with the end results.

final1  Final4 Final8 Final2

On my second outing, I chose to take images of an old derelict house in a village close to where I live and an old pillbox on the edge of Cannock Chase. It was just after taking these shots, and before editing them, that my assignment turned a corner. I discovered a book by Ransom Riggs entitled “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”. In this book the author combines vintage photographs and writing to create his story. This made me think about the stories that surrounded the buildings I had just photographed. In particular was the abandoned house. I have known of the house since I was around 8 years old and even then it was abandoned. No one really seemed to know anything about the house, so as children we created ghost stories and convinced ourselves it was haunted. This got me thinking about people’s love of horror movies and the need for things that thrill and scare us and made me want to edit the photos to make them more eerie and old-fashioned.

DSC_0241-4 DSC_0248-2 DSC_0260-2 DSC_0462-1 DSC_0470-1 DSC_0500-1   DSC_0511-1 DSC_0515-1  DSC_0536-1 DSC_0543-2 DSC_0520-1 DSC_0508

DSC_0503-1

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

