Landscape- Exercise 2:5- Text in Art

This section on landscapes as a journey, we had to look at land art and the use of text within landscape practise. The idea of this is to represent an artist’s experience of the landscape as they move through it.

We were then guided to Richard Long’s Textworks (http://www.richardlong.org/Textworks/textworks11.htmland asked to write down between 12 & 24 observations during a short walk or journey.

I chose to complete the exercise while walking my dog. The walk took around 50 minutes so slightly longer then I originally anticipated, however I became so enthralled with the exercise, I ended up writing down lots of different observations and feelings.

Here they are

  • Narrow, long pathway
  • Broken crayons on the ground
  • Graveyards holding so much history
  • Dappled light through green leaves
  • How many footsteps have been taken along these paths?
  • Golfers dreaming of holes in one
  • Paths meet like crossroads, which one to take?
  • Beautiful fields full of life
  • Birds sweetly singing in the trees above
  • The faint roar of the motorway in the distance
  • Random buttercups dotted around
  • Treading faint paths through grassy fields
  • A sea of yellow laid out before me
  • Stood on the hill looking across vast fields and miniature houses
  • Treading along dry, cracked dirt
  • Dump trucks kicking up dust in a nearby field, drowned out by the motorway
  • Navigating the peaks and troughs of the field
  • Looking out at the almost endless tunnels of the strawberry fields
  • High up above the motorway, cars seeming in a hurry
  • Small paths leading back to woodland
  • Keeping to paths that twist and turn
  • Stepping over tree roots
  • Seeing the clouds through breaks in the branches
  • Pretty pink flowers, dotting the way
  • Not a soul around, it’s like our own little woodland
  • Out of the woodland, walking down the drive back to reality
  • See the cars passing by at the bottom, oblivious to the adventure we have just been on
  • Passing the threshold, we’re nearly there
  • Out in the open the sun hits my face
  • The street feels so empty and open unlike the dense woodland
  • Passing by houses of different shapes and sizes
  • The public footpath pointing us home

I thoroughly enjoyed this exercise as I found it quite eye-opening and really made me think about the details I could pick out in my walk. I also found the experience very poetic, reading back on my observations I felt as though they made up a poem. Although we were told that we didn’t have to take any photos, I felt inspired to. I am also considering using this walk for my second assignment as previously I felt as though there wouldn’t be enough to photograph.

The second part of the exercise was about thinking of ways to present our observations. For this, we were given 3 artists’ work to look at Ed Ruscha, Barbara Kruger and Mark Titchner.

http://www.edruscha.com

http://www.barbarakruger.com

http://www.marktitchnerstudio.com

I really liked Ruscha and Kruger’s work as the ideas were quite simple and Ruscha’s in particular are very acessible and reminds me of logo t-shirts that you can buy in River Island or New Look etc

Here are a couple of ideas I had for presenting some of my observations

IMG_0068

When I took the photo of the crayon, I knew straightaway that this was how I wanted to present it. With it being a broken crayon I thought that I needed to be coupled with “broken” paper, both are useless on their own but together they can work

 IMG_0060-2

I found this image harder to add writing to because of the amount of detail, especially at the bottom. It took awhile to get the right font and colours, although I’m still not 100% happy with it.

y

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Landscape- Exercise 2:5- Text in Art

  1. Pingback: Landscape- Assignment 2- A Journey (Part 2 of 2) | kunsworthphotography's Blog

Leave a Reply

