Sohei Nishino

I first saw Nishino’s work in the September 2014 issue of The British Journal of Photography.

Nishino creates dioramas using thousands of individual images, all taken while wandering around cities. His aim is to show his viewer every street, face and view that he sees. He has photographed cities such as London, Paris, Tokyo, Rio de Janeiro and many others. Nishino makes mosaics that are fragmented, geographically inaccurate and lacking perspective, however they show each city’s character. They also serve as Nishino’s memory of each of the places he has visited.

When I first saw Nishino’s work, I knew it was special and kept it to one side to include in my landscape work. At the time, I had no idea where or if it would fit in anywhere. Fast forward 9 months later and I am reading Merlin Coverley’s “Psychogeography” and I remembered this article. It provides a perfect visual guide to Psychogeography and how to “map” cities.

Although I enjoy looking and discovering each aspect of these images and appreciate the work that has gone into creating these. I do not think this is something I would like to try in the future.

http://www.soheinishino.com/en/

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

