Landscape- Assignment 2- A Journey

The brief for this assignment asked us to either document a journey or explore the idea of journeys. I chose to do the former.

I started this assignment by looking at what is meant by a journey. The Collins Dictionary defines a journey as:

  • travelling from one place to another. 2a) the distance travelled in a journey. 2b) the time taken to make a journey. 3) to make a journey

I then started looking at the different ways that journeys could be made

Untitled-1

This led to me thinking about what journeys I make each day, these were mostly by car so I assumed that I would wind up documenting a car journey. The turning point was exercise 2.5 Text in Art; where I noted observations I made whilst walking my dog. When I was writing up the exercise, I realised how much there was to photograph and that was when I decided that this was the journey I wanted to photograph for my assignment. As it originally took nearly an hour to complete the journey, I decided to shorten it to half an hour for the purposes of this assignment as I felt I wouldn’t be able to adequately convey a longer journey. The aspects of part 2 which have influenced my work are:

  • Topography; as I am charting the contrasts between the beautiful fields and built up areas.
  • Adrian Turner’s 36 views + Sub-urbia.
  • Carleton Watkin’s interpretation of landscapes as being a “recorded sight” which anyone who stumbled across would see as the same.

My contact sheets

Below are the images I took during my walk, from which I would choose my final 12 images.

PhotoScan PhotoScan2

My final images

This is a strong first image as it makes the viewer completely engage with the journey as there is no alternative

Long, narrow pathway This is a strong first image as it makes the viewer completely engage with the journey as there is no alternative

Graveyards holding so much history This is quite a poignant moment in the walk. I pass this often and find myself thinking of those whose journey has ended here, whereas my walk/journey is just beginning

Graveyards holding so much history
This is quite a poignant moment in the walk. I pass this often and find myself thinking of those whose journey has ended here, whereas my walk/journey is just beginning

Dappled light through green leaves Sets the scene for moving from the built up areas to the fields and woods. The trail also guides the viewer up the path

Dappled light through green leaves
Sets the scene for moving from the built up areas to the fields and woods. The trail also guides the viewer up the path

Proceed with caution When I first started taking this walk, I saw this and felt concerned however after a few trips I found that there is no threat at all

Proceed with caution
When I first started taking this walk, I saw this and felt concerned however after a few trips I found that there is no threat at all

Hole 16 This photo is looking back on the walk across the gold course

Hole 16
This photo is looking back on the walk across the gold course

Beautiful fields full of life The field is framed by the trees and bush and viewers get a preview of what lies ahead

Beautiful fields full of life
The field is framed by the trees and bush and viewers get a preview of what lies ahead

Treading faint paths through grassy fields Quite picturesque and with the path straight down the middle it leads the viewer

Treading faint paths through grassy fields
Quite picturesque and with the path straight down the middle it leads the viewer

Distant Suburbia This shows the progression from the fields back into the built up area as you can see some houses visable behind the trees

Distant Suburbia
This shows the progression from the fields back into the built up area as you can see some houses visable behind the trees

Main Road ahead This shows the progression of the walk and the contrast between the fields and built up area

Main Road ahead
This shows the progression of the walk and the contrast between the fields and built up area

Built up streets Again showing the progression of the walk and the contrast between the fields and houses

Built up streets
Again showing the progression of the walk and the contrast between the fields and houses

#9 This was an unplanned shot but I included it as it gives a nod to the fact that we have just been onto the Stafford Castle grounds

#9
This was an unplanned shot but I included it as it gives a nod to the fact that we have just been onto the Stafford Castle grounds

Public footpath leading us home This image gives a nice conclusion to the walk

Public footpath leading us home
This image gives a nice conclusion to the walk

Evaluation

I felt that there were a number of areas within the assignment that I did better than others. For instance, by basing my journey on the journey that I completed for exercise 2:5, it gave me a clear approach to the assignment as I set out to take photos that could work alongside the text/observations I had previously made. There were a few shots that I was really pleased with, namely, “graveyards holding so much history”, “Hole 16” and “Beautiful fields full of life” as they have turned out exactly how I had envisaged them. However there were also a couple of shots, namely, “Main road ahead” and “Built up streets” that I felt weren’t as strong as the others but I included them as I felt they helped to show the progression of the walk.

References

https://kunsworthphotography.wordpress.com/2015/04/16/landscape-exercise-2-1-territorial-photography/

https://kunsworthphotography.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/landscape-exercise-25-text-in-art/

http://www.theopengallery.co.uk/?id=1055

 “Territorial Photography” from Landscape and Power by Joel Snyder- University of Chicago Press 1994.

 “Psychogeography” Merlin Coverley- Oldcastle Books Ltd- Oct 2010

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

