Landscape- Exercise 3:5- Local History

I decided, for this exercise and for my 3rd assignment, to look at the National Memorial Arboretum. Although it has only been open to the public since 2001, it has become a significant place of remembrance over the years and is featured heavily every Remembrance Sunday and other on significant dates.

Most of my research was carried out on the National Memorial Arboretum’s website (link at the bottom of the page) where I found a wealth of information on things such as the history, who runs it, the various memorials to be found in the grounds as well as more practical information such as details on opening times, where to find it and a daily schedule. When looking on the learning section of the website, I also found some resources (although they are primarily designed for children) which I felt could give me some good guidance on particular areas of interest. One area that I find quite interesting and poignant (this is mainly due to my interest in the work of Chloe Dewe Mathews) is the memorial to the soldiers shot at dawn. I then used Trip Advisor to find ideas for photographs that I could either create my own interpretation of or use as reference for possible areas of interest.

In terms of the assignment, I wanted to show viewers how much this space means to people. The memorial commemorates every person that has fallen, sacrificed or given recognised service for our country and is a living tribute to those people. The arboretum also gives families a place to come and remember family members or colleagues and a place for us to show our appreciation to them.  These are my objectives for the assignment.

http://www.thenma.org.uk/

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186376-d1379697-Reviews-National_Memorial_Arboretum-Lichfield_Staffordshire_England.html#photos

Image included on this page is from the website’s downloadable images available on the link below

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

