Landscape- Exericse 4:3- A Subjective Voice

This exercise was about us finding our personal voices and becoming aware of our subjective attitude towards subjects that we are researching and photographing. 

 I was born in Suffolk. The village I grew up in was very small but boasted a castle and a quay. It was surrounded by countryside and a fair distance from the next village. We were also close to the infamous Rendlesham Forest and the now vacant US airbase. It left me feeling drawn to a more traditional ideal of landscape and the feeling of tranquility that comes along with it.  Suffolk is after all Constable’s home county. This is something that I try to emulate in my work. When I was 8 years old, we moved to a village in Staffordshire. Although there is countryside, it is also quite urban. This made me start to look at urban landscapes and how they could be just as interesting as traditional landscapes. We would also take walks around Shugborough estate and over Cannock chase which were more akin to the traditional landscapes of Suffolk. While on these walks, we were often encouraged to go off the beaten track which made me more inquisitive and spurred me explore things further.

For as long as I can remember, I have been interested in photography. In the beginning, I enjoyed photographing people and horses, however as I got older I progressed into landscapes and seeing the beauty in the world around me. This mainly lead to me photographing buildings and urban landscapes. I then became aware of the work of David Hockney and became intrigued by his joiner photographs which depict ordinary scenes but encourage you to explore the scene further than you would normally. I also became interested in photos of decay and derelict buildings and the idea of exploring the unknown/untouched. 

Through my coursework, I have found myself drawn to landscapes further as I enjoy the relaxed nature of it and the varying scenes/subjects I can photograph.

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

