Landscape- Exercise 5:3-Print-on-demand Mock-up

For this exercise, you had to create a mock-up of a print on demand book.

As I am wanting to create a book for my self-directed project, I was keen to have a go and see what it was all about.

While working on this exercise I watched Jose Navarro’s video http://oca-student.com/node/66693 (as recommended within the course materials- but felt it was very useful) and read “The Photobook: From Talbot to Ruscha and beyond” by P Di Bello, C Wilson and S Zamir

I chose to download Blurb’s Bookwright application. At first I found it a little daunting. I wanted it to give it more of a professional look and less like a bog standard photobook which you could buy from the more mainstream photo printing services. Once I started to use the application and think about the look I wanted I found the program very easy to use and manipulate. The more I got into it and the more I read from “The Photobook: From Talbot to Ruscha and beyond”, the more I started to see my project in a new light. I started to re-evaluate what were my best images and how I could piece them all together to give the best overall view.

print screen-book

Taking what I have learnt from reading about Walker Evans, I started to think about leaving the images on their own and moving my would be captions to the end of the book. This would allow the images to be “read” by the viewer instead of them being told what they are seeing. I have also left room, for the moment, at the beginning of my book for my artist’s statement (which is coming up in exercise 5:7).

I have also forwarded a copy of this mock-up to my tutor to get her opinion of what I am purposing to do.

Exploring the edgelands draft

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

