Landscape- Exercise 5:4- Online Exhibitions

For this exercise, we were asked to read the article “Online Exhibitions” on the We Are OCA website and watch “Looking at the Land” by Andy Adams. We then had to make any notes or comments we had on the piece.

Online Exhibitions

Thoughts after watching

After reading the article and then watching the “exhibition”, I noted a number of things that I have listed below

  • By viewing the exhibition online, the viewer is ‘forced’ to look at images they might otherwise miss or dismiss. This therefore allows the viewer the opportunity to see the whole exhibition and gives them a better understanding of why the images have been chosen and their overall contribution.
  • Unlike others who have watched this, I feel that Adams should have used some music if only something quite light such as piano music. this could help the viewer to relax into what they are seeing and add to the intimate feel of watching an exhibition in this way.
  • Further to my point about it being intimate, I felt when watching it had been created just for me, I could watch it how I wanted and when I wanted. This added to my interest
  • I liked how Adams kept the layout simple so the view was fixed in one position but there was also the photographers name, the title of the piece, the date etc like there would be in a gallery for those who wish to see it. The pace between images was also appropriate as it allowed just the right amount of time to view each image.
  • Lastly I liked how each image was shown as equal to each other. Quite often in galleries the images are different sizes and the larger ones attract the most attention. By keeping them all the same size, it allows the viewer to decide of their own favourites. They are also all given the same viewing time.

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

