Landscape- Exercise 5:7- Artist’s Statement

For the last exercise we were asked to pick a selection of artist’s statements to read and then to write our own, to be included with our 5th assignment.

The prospect of this seemed quite daunting, it is the first time I have had to do this and am aware of the importance of it when communicating the aims of my work, both current and future.

Examples 

I had noticed when looking for examples, I was very difficult so in order to help future users I have included some of the statements I looked at as guidance

http://www.aprildeacon.com/artiststatement.html

http://www.purdyhicks.com/display.php?aid=14-1#1

http://www.eyesfull.com/facesandplaces/artist_statement.html

http://www.michaelandersongallery.com/page/bio/

http://marytuma.com/artiststatement.html

I also used the writing guide suggested within the exercise http://community.ucreative.ac.uk/index.cfm?articleid+18407

For my statement, I decided to write something to cover all my work not just my project for assignment 5

My Artist Statement

My interest in photography started at the age of 4. I love to take photos of anything and everything. One of my earliest memories is going to a horse show and wanting to take the perfect shot of a horse splashing through the water. A lot of the shots from that day include the cordon rope but I got the shot I wanted and I guess at the time that was exactly how I saw the show. I was sharing my version of the world around me.

From as early as I can remember, I have always wanted to show the potential in the everyday. I have a fascination with the “behind the scenes”, the “off the beaten track”the overlooked, neglected and forgotten elements of life. In this day and age, we often suppress our natural urge to explore our surroundings or go somewhere for the sake of it. Younger children will never know the joy of “a drive”. The idea that you could go out in the car with no real purpose and see things you wouldn’t normally. Nowadays, sat-nav rules the car journey so we don’t have to get lost and figure out our way back.

With my work, I bring these things to the forefront and show the wonder of the everyday. I  share my inquisitive nature and hope that I can help others to explore their surroundings more.

For my “Exploring the Edgelands” project in particular, I took inspiration from Paul Farley and Michael Symmons Robert’s book “Edgelands- Journeys into England’s True Wilderness”. Their poetic and astute observations encouraged me to go out and explore these areas in my local town.

 

About kunsworthphotography

I am currently studying towards a BA (Hons) in Photography with OCA and I have 2 children, Evie(4 years old) and Connor(3 years old)
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

